Rizwan, Haris receive ICC T20I team of the year caps

LAHORE: Mohammad Rizwan and Haris Rauf have received their commemorative caps for the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) T20I Team of the Year. 

The two players were named in the ICC T20I Team of the Year for 2022 in January.

Taking to Twitter, Pakistan Cricket Board on Sunday shared pictures of Rizwan and Haris, holding the ICC caps.

The ICC Team of the Year recognises 11 outstanding individuals who have impressed one and all – be it with the bat, the ball or their all-around exploits in a calendar year.

Rizwan smashed 10 half-centuries last year in the shortest format and finished as the joint-highest scorer for Pakistan at the T20 World Cup with 175 runs.

He gathered a staggering 996 runs in 2022 and held on to the opening slot alongside England’s Jos Buttler in the ICC T20I Team of the Year for the second year in a row.

Meanwhile, Haris Rauf, who earned the repute of ‘death overs specialist’ for his match-winning contributions for T20 World Cup runner-ups Pakistan during the previous year, took 31 wickets in 2022 – most by any Pakistani bowler.

The right-arm pacer impressed everybody with his raw pace and often left batters clueless. In the absence of Shaheen Afridi during the latter half of the year, Pakistan relied heavily on Rauf to lead the bowling attack.

READ: Atletico Madrid rout Sevilla 6-1 to go third in LaLiga 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *